The Carnivorous Plant Society

The Carnivorous Plant Society is a registered Charity, founded in 1978 with the aim of bringing together all those interested in carnivorous plants, both beginners and experts. Membership is open to all individuals and institutions, both amateur and professional.

Plant Photo 1 Plant Photo 2 Plant Photo 3

Home >> Committee


This is a list of the Trustees and Committee members with a brief description of their roles. All Trustees and Committee members are elected annually by member's present at the AGM. Any member can nominate themselves for election to a Committee post. Nomination notices are sent out in advance of the AGM.


Phil Wilson, Dennis Balsdon, Ron Satterthwaite, Fiona Wowra, Flick Foreman, Richard Bunn, Steve Tatman


Ron Satterthwaite Chairman Has overall managerial control of the committee and chairs committee meetings.
Steve Tatman Vice Chairman Assists the Chairman in their duties as necessary and acts on behalf of the Chair in their absence.
Fiona Wowra Secretary Responsible for preparing the agenda for, and, taking minutes at AGM, EOS and Committee meetings.
Fiona Wowra Seed Bank Organiser Runs and manages the seed bank, ordering seed and distributing it to members.
Phil Wilson Treasurer Responsible for all financial aspects of the Society including running the Society's bank account and providing annual accounts for the AGM.
Ron Satterthwaite Membership Secretary Responsible for keeping a record of all members, recording new memberships and renewals etc.
Dean Fincham Conservation Officer
Responsible for overseeing the society's conservation policy and for assessing and making recommendations for grants from the society Conservation Fund.

Dianne Riddiford

Events Organiser

Organises CPS meetings and member's open days.

Ian Salter & Dianne Riddiford Promotions Sources and sells CPS promotions - t-shirts, mugs etc.

Richard Bunn

Newsletter Editor

Editor of the twice-yearly newsletter sent to all current members of the society.

Phil Wilson


Keeps the Society's collection of printed materials

Sheila Little

Enquiries Officer 

Responsible for handling all enquiries made to the society and either answering them or diverting them to the relevant committee member.

Richard Bunn & Phil Wilson Internet Officers Responsible for the upkeep of the Society's website and other Internet resources.

Martin Cheek (Non Committee Role)

Journal Editor 


Responsible for the production of the Society's Journal - Planta Carnivora.

Steve Tatman

Assistant Journal Editor

Assists the Publications Editor in sourcing and compiling articles for the Journal.  

Dennis Balsdon

Show Secretary

Organises displays for flower shows and events.  

Sam Booth

General Committee Member

Non-role-specific member of the Management Committee.  

Flick Foreman

General Committee Member

Non-role-specific member of the Management Committee. 

Sheila Little

Social Media Officer

Responsible for managing and updating the Society's various social media platforms.  



Latest News